5 Things to Know About NEMA Enclosure Types

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

You may think you know a lot about NEMA Enclosure Types; well, let’s make sure. Here are five things that everyone should know.

nema enclosure

1. National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) sets out standards for manufacturers of enclosures for electrical equipment intended for industrial use and for medical imaging equipment. NEMA developed the standards for its members; compliance with the rating system is voluntary. One set of standards addresses protecting equipment designed for use in non-hazardous areas and another addresses protecting equipment designed for use in hazardous areas. The standards are further broken down by determining whether the equipment is for use indoors or outdoors as well as equipment for use either indoors or outdoors.

2. There are basically 13 standards for equipment designed for use in non-hazardous areas.  All the NEMA ratings in this group protect employees against contact with hazardous parts and protect the equipment in the enclosure from falling dirt and debris. The higher the rating the more protections for the equipment. For example, the lower ratings protect against low levels of water seepage for short periods of time. The next level protects against rainwater at deeper pooling levels; the next against rain and snow; splashing water, hosed water, exposure to ice, equipment laden with ice or corrosive agents like sea water.


Check out our NEMA Spec Sheets.

Need it customized for a specific project? Contact us »

3. *With respect to hazardous locations, equipment built to standards 7 and 10 can withstand an internal explosion without causing hazardous conditions outside the enclosure. Enclosures built to standard 8 will withstand combustion from oil-soaked material and standard 9 enclosures will withstand fires from dust explosions.

4. Type 10 enclosures are those that satisfy the requirements for the Mine Safety and Health Administration.

5. NEMA further divides indoor enclosures into classes according to the atmospheric contaminants against which the enclosure protects the equipment. Class I enclosures, for example, protect against acetylene, hydrogen, ethylene and others. Class II protects against metal dust, coal dust, and grain dust, among others. Class III protects against fibers and explosive flyings.

An enclosure designed for one type of standard does not satisfy another standard unless so noted on the manufacturer’s specifications.

If you’d like to talk to someone about these five things, or anything else related, just contact us. We look forward to hearing from you!

*Easter-Owens does not provide explosion proof enclosures. 

Recents Posts